Skip to content

Fabulous Ferrari 250GTO TdF Zagato is 2022 Salon Privé winner


Salon Privé Concours d’Elégance returned to the majestic grounds of Blenheim Palace in Oxfordshire on August 31 to September 4, 2022. The event, now in its 17th year, is widely regarded as one of the UK’s most distinguished concours.

This 1956 Ferrari 250GT TdF Berlinetta by Zagato was named Best of Show

A 1956 Ferrari 250GT TdF Berlinetta by Zagato (chassis 0515GT) was crowned Best of Show, and is consequently eligible for Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award, which annually recognises the world’s finest concours winners. The lightweight Berlinetta features Zagato’s signature double-bubble roof and is one of only five built.

In period, chassis 0515GT was built for one of Ferrari’s most valued customers, Vladimiro Galluzzi, who campaigned the car extensively in 1956 before selling it to racing driver Luigi Taramazzo. Chassis 0515GT subsequently retired from motor racing in 1958, with an entry to the 1956 Mille Miglia adorning its history file.

The 1938 Alfa Romeo 6C 2300B Mille Miglia by Graber that finished runner-up

Finishing in second place to the Ferrari was the winner of the Pre-War Open Class: a 1938 Alfa Romeo 6C 2300B Mille Miglia by Graber. Demarcated as chassis 815045, the Italian pre-war racer is the last of four convertible Graber models, and was the only model manufactured with ‘MM’ against its engine number.

Finishing in third place was this 1931 Bentley 8 Litre Saloon by Freestone and Webb

Taking the final step of the rostrum was a 1931 Bentley 8 Litre Saloon by Freestone and Webb, owned by Manchester’s Gaskill Collection. Bearing chassis number YR5089, it was built upon the shorter version of the two 8 Litre chassis and fitted with a body that was likely designed for concours competitions. The third-place Bentley was also crowned as the winner of Salon Privé’s Pre-War Closed Class.  

1965 Ferrari 365P

Bagging the honourary Duke of Marlborough Award was a Fantuzzi-bodied 1965 Ferrari 365P. Built as a Works racing car, it came home in second place in its first race at the 1965 Monza 1000km thanks to the combined efforts of Formula 1 World Champion John Surtees and Ludovico Scarfotti. The 365P was also named the winner of the Ferrari 75th Anniversary Race Class.

Chassis 3387GT was the second Ferrari 250GTO ever built

Finishing behind the 365P in the 75th Anniversary Race Class was a beautiful Ferrari 250GTO. Built in 1962, chassis 3387GT was the second GTO to roll off the production line, and it played an important role in the future development of the legendary nameplate. The fabled machine also took home the Chairman’s Award and Most Iconic Award.

1979 Aston Martin V8 Volante with 7-Litre RSW upgrade (centre)

A 1979 Aston Martin V8 Volante 7-Litre RSW was one of the more contemporary machines to be honoured with an award, claiming the Coup de Coeur and Matt Pearce Trophy. Marque specialist RS Williams upgraded the car to 7-Litre RSW spec in 2004, bringing its total output up to 440bhp and 520lb ft of torque.

1907 Lorraine Dietrich 130HP Course

The oldest car to win silverware was the 1907 Lorraine Dietrich 130HP Course that snagged the People’s Choice Trophy. Boasting a colossal 16.4-litre four-cylinder engine, the example displayed at Salon Privé is the only known survivor still equipped with its original Lorraine chain-drive transmission.

1933 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental Sports Coupé by Freestone and Webb

A 1933 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental Sports Coupé by Freestone and Webb was another highlight of the show, and it was named winner of the Churchill Cup for the Most Exceptional Design. The pre-war Rolls-Royce was precociously designed as a grand tourer, enabling well heeled drivers to cover large distances in luxury at a time when Europe’s road infrastructure remained in its relative infancy.

“Once again, Salon Privé has attracted the cream of the crop for its concours d’elegance, with some truly exceptional motor cars presented for judging. As we mark Ferrari’s 75th anniversary, it’s extra special that our overall winner should be a Maranello product,” said Salon Privé chairman Andrew Bagley. “David and Ginny Sydorick’s 250GT TdF perfectly embodied the style and emotion behind the Ferrari brand, and was impeccably presented, too, as were all our trophy winners.”

Away from the concours competition, manufacturers chose Salon Privé to showcase some of their latest and most exciting machinery, including the all-electric 2200bhp DEUS Vayanne, outlandish Engler V10 quad bike and Radical’s track-focused SR3 XX and SR10.

A new addition for 2022 was Live on the Drive, which saw everything from legndary Group A rally cars to the record-breaking McMurtry Spéirling fan car race up the drive of Blenheim Palace – much to the visitors’ delight.

The next edition of the Salon Privé Concours d’Elegance is scheduled to take place on August 30 to September 3, 2023. More information can be found here.

Salon Privé 2022 award winners

Best in Show – 1956 Ferrari 250GT TdF Berlinetta by Zagato
Churchill Cup for Most Exceptional Design – 1933 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental Sports Coupé by Freestone & Webb
People’s Choice – 1907 Lorraine Dietrich 130HP ‘Course’
Duke of Marlborough Award – 1965 Ferrari 365P by Fantuzzi
Chairman’s Award – 1962 Ferrari 250GTO by Scaglietti
Class A: 1903 Berliet 20hp Closed Swing-Seat Tonneau
Class B: 1932 Aston Martin Lightweight Le Mans Works Team Car LM9
Class C: 1938 Alfa Romeo 6C 2300 B Mille Miglia Cabriolet by Graber
Class D: 1931 Bentley 8 Litre Saloon by Freestone & Webb
Class E: 1955 Fiat 8V Berlinetta by Vignale
Class F: 1954 HWM Cadillac
Class G: 1956 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gullwing
Class H: 1956 Ferrari 250GT TdF Berlinetta by Zagato
Class I: 1966 Ferrari 330GTC by Pininfarina
Class J: 1966 Ferrari 275GTB/C by Scaglietti
Class K: 1953 Chrysler GS-1 Special Coupé by Ghia
Class L: 1966 Mercedes-Benz 600 Grosser
Class M: 1971 Citroën SM Espace by Heuliez
Class N: 1961 Jaguar E-type Fixed Head Coupé
Class O: 1984 Lotus Turbo Esprit S3
Class P: 1977 Aston Martin V8 Vantage
Class Q: 2005 Maserati MC12
Spirit Award/The Margaret Bagley Trophy – 1972 Ferrari 365GTB/4 ‘Daytona’ by Scaglietti
Most Exceptional Coachwork – 1935 Hispano-Suiza J12 Cabriolet by Vanvooren
Most Opulent – 1929 Rolls-Royce 20hp 3-postion Cabriolet by Windovers
Coup de Coeur/The Matt Pearce Trophy – 1979 Aston Martin V8 Volante ‘7 Litre RSW’
Best Interior – 1933 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental Drophead Coupé
Most Elegant – 1961 Ferrari 250GT SWB California Spider by Scaglietti
Most Iconic – 1962 Ferrari 250GTO by Scaglietti

Get Magneto Magazine straight from publication to your door with a subscription.

2 Year Subscription £94 1 Year Subscription £54