Skip to content

Cavallino Classic Middle East sizzles with Ferrari’s finest

Words: Nathan Chadwick | Photos: Canossa Events

A freshly restored 250GT/L and Touring-bodied 340 America with Le Mans history shared the spoils at the Cavallino Classic Middle East’s celebration of all things Maranello made.

The 250GT/L dates from 1962, and won the Gran Turismo Ferrari Cup. Chassis number 5477 GT is owned by Giacomo Mattioli and is one of just 351 made. Originally produced for the German market, it instead found its way to France with its first owner. It came to the US in the mid-1970s, where it stayed in a shed for 40 years. It current owner found the car and set about a full restoration with Bacchelli & Villa of Bastiglia. The work was finished just prior to the summer, and the Abu Dhabi event was its international concours debut.

A varied field of Ferraris came out to play in Abu Dhabi.

The Competition Ferrari Cup, meanwhile, went to the 1951 Ferrari 340 America, serial number 004/0116. Bodied by Carrozzeria Touring Milano to a Barchetta style, it notched up two entries into the Le Mans 24 Hours, in 1951 and 1952. Its first owner was Parisian Pierre Louis-Dreyfuss, a particular man who demanded changes to his new machine, as detailed in preserved original documents that detail the requirements from Dreyfuss, a gentleman driver and engineer by trade, with Enzo Ferrari. Now part of the Cogan Collection in the US, it’s recently been restored by Ferrari Classiche.

Ferrari owners and enthusiasts had a (snooker) ball.

Special/Class Awards

The Ferrari Elegance Award: 2007 Ferrari 612 Scaglietti, #168911, owned by Rajai Kayal (HK).

The Coppa Dodici Cilindri, for the best 12-cylinder engine Ferrari: 2011 Ferrari SA Aperta, #179812, owned by Rajai Kayal (HK).

The Coppa Otto Cilindri, for the best 8-cylinder engine Ferrari: 2009 Ferrari 430 Scuderia, #164246, owned by a private collector (KSA).

Ferrari Judges’ Award: 2004 575M Maranello, #134935, owned by Zaher Samman (UAE).

Ferrari Restoration Award: 1985 Ferrari 288GTO, #55233, owned by a private collector (UAE).

RM Sotheby’s Spirit Award: 1958 Ferrari 250GT Coupé, #1533, owned by a private collector (OMN).

The Chairman Cup: 1959 Ferrari 250GT Coupé, #1169 GT, owned by Jan Sandmann (D).

Platinum Award winners

1951 Ferrari 340 America Barchetta Touring, #004/0116.
1962 Ferrari 250GT/L, #5477 GT.
1983 Ferrari 512BBi, #44543.
1985 Ferrari 288GTO, #55233.
1996 Ferrari F512M, #103325.
2001 Ferrari 550 Barchetta Pininfarina, #124325.
2004 Ferrari 575M Maranello, #134935.
2004 Ferrari 360 Challenge Stradale, #139048.
2007 Ferrari 612 Scaglietti, #168911.
2008 Ferrari 599GTB, #165083.
2009 Ferrari 430 Scuderia, #164246.
2011 Ferrari 599GTO, #182093.
2011 Ferrari SA Aperta, #179812.

Ferraristi Awards

Platinum: 1985 Ferrari 288GTO, #55233, owned by a private collector (UAE).
Gold: 1951 Ferrari 340 America, #004/0116, from the Cogan Collection (USA).
Silver: 2004 575M Maranello, #134935, owned by Zaher Samman (UAE).

For more details on the event, check out Cavallino’s page here.