Skip to content

Talbot-Lago T26 Cabriolet scoops Arizona Concours best in show

Words: Nathan Chadwick | Photos: Bob Golfen/Patrick Darby/Arizona Concours

With a show theme of The Art of Aerodynamics, the winner of the Arizona Concours d’Elegance was always going to be something special – and the Best in Show didn’t disappoint.

A 1947 Talbot-Lago T26 Record Cabriolet was adjudged by 38 of North America’s leading judges to be awarded the title. The car vanquished stiff competition from the likes of a 1958 Ferrari 250 Granturismo Ellena, a 1936 Lincoln K330 Convertible Roadster and a 1913 Bugatti T-22 Grand Prix, amid a field of 90 cars.

Winning Talbot-Lago is owned by Ray and Bonnie Kinney, and has been treated to an extensive refurbishment by RM Auto Restoration.

The Talbot-Lago belongs to Ray and Bonnie Kinney of Dallas, Texas, and features Figoni et Falaschi bodywork. Among its previous owners was the director of Showboat, Bye Bye Birdy and Viva Las Vegas, George Sidney. More recently, RM Auto Restoration has performed an extensive refreshment of the whole car, which has graced concours such as Pebble Beach and The Amelia, among others.

The event, which took place on January 22, was the first of its kind held at the Scottsdale Civic Center Plaza, and it was put together in association with Scottsdale Arts. More details can be found here and the class results are featured below.

Arizona Concours d’Elegance 2023 Results

The Best in Show: 1947 Talbot-Lago T26 Record Cabriolet (Ray and Bonnie Kinney).

Special Awards

Scottsdale Arts Award for Automotive Artistry: 1968 Shelby American ‘Lonestar’ Prototype (Michael Shoen).

Arizona Concours Award for an Exceptional Sports/GT or Race Car: 1952 Lancia B52 Aurelia PF200 (William A Pope).

Clive Cussler Passion for Collecting Award: 1930 Rolls-Royce Phantom I Windblown Coupé (Rich Atwell Family).

Arizona Concours Inspiration Award: 1953 Alfa Romeo BAT 5 (Touring Auto Collection).

TechForce Foundation Inspiring the Next Generation Award: 2020 Ford GT Mark II (The Mark and Joe Shoen Family).

Arizona Concours Director’s Award #1: 1956 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Alloy Gullwing (Daniel Withers).

Arizona Concours Director’s Award #2: 1939 Bugatti Type 57C Aravis style by Gangloff (Peter and Merle Mullin).

Outstanding German Engineering: 1937 Horch 853 Sport Phaeton (Valerie and Aaron Weiss).

Class Awards

Class 1: Early Aerodynamic Brass Automobiles – Pre-1916: 1913 Bugatti T-22 Grand Prix (Alan and Mary Travis).

Class 2: Aerodynamic Pre-war European Sports and Racing Cars: 1935 SS-90 prototype (Terry and Darlene Larson). 

Class 3: Awakening – 1930s American Coachwork: 1936 Lincoln K330 Convertible Roadster (Harry and Heather Clark and Hilary Barr).

Class 4: Awakening – 1930s European Coachwork: 1931 Bugatti Type 51 Dubos Coupé (Jack and Helen Nethercutt).

Class 5: Pause – The War Years – 1940s Coachwork: 1947 Talbot-Lago T26 Record Cabriolet (Ray and Bonnie Kinney).

Class 6: Continuing Development – 1950s Glamour Coachwork of the Space Age: 1961 Ghia L 6.4 Coupe (Mark Hyman).

Class 7: Preservation Class – Pre-1973: 1931 Bentley 4 Litre (Terry and Darlene Larson).

Class 8: Modern Development of the Art – Sports Cars 1948-1960: 1958 Ferrari 250 Gran Turismo Ellena (Ed and Kimberly Montini).

Class 9: Modern Development of the Art – Racing Cars 1948-1966: 1953 Gilco / Fiat / Siata 1500 Coupé (Donald and Carol Murray).

Class 10: Modern Development of the Art – American-powered Sports/Racing 1960-1975: 1967 Bizzarrini 5300 Strada (Billy and Tisa Hibbs).

Class 11: Modern Development of the Art – European Sports/Racing 1961-1975: 1967 Jaguar E-type Series 1 FHC (Walter and Judy Skowronski). 

Class 12: And the Beat Goes On – Iconic Exotic Sports Cars (1975-2008): 2008 Alfa Romeo 8C Competizione (John Campbell).

Get Magneto Magazine straight from publication to your door with a subscription.

2 Year Subscription £94 1 Year Subscription £54